# 43rd Annual Scholarship Dinner



Thursday, March 30, 2017



#### President Stuart Rabinowitz

and the

### Hempstead for Hofstra/ Hofstra for Hempstead Committee

cordially invite you to attend the

## 43rd Annual Scholarship Dinner

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Main Dining Room Sondra and David S. Mack Student Center North Campus

Black Tie Optional

6:30 p.m. Cocktail Reception 🥟 7:30 p.m. Dinner

RSVP by Tuesday, March 21, 2017. Reply card enclosed.

## 2017 Unispan Award Recipients

#### Bill Beroza

Israel Men's National Lacrosse Team



#### Cynthia D. Felder and Christopher D. Felder

Long Island Barber Institute



#### Marion P. Fleming '68

Educator



#### Bishop Barrington Goldson

Calvary Tabernacle The Academy Charter School



#### Wayne K. Redman

Hempstead Boys & Girls Club



#### Keith Senko

John Senko Funeral Homes Senko Funeral Home Hempstead Funeral Home



#### 2017 Tyree Curry Lifetime Achievement Award

The Tyree Curry Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an individual who has made significant and lasting contributions to the Hempstead community and who demonstrates distinguished service and a spirit of volunteerism. The award is named in honor of Tyree Curry (1942-2012), an educator, civil rights activist, photographer and disc jockey.

Curtis "Flex" Watts

Sharp Edges Barbershop

#### Hempstead for Hofstra/Hofstra for Hempstead

Forty-three years ago, a dedicated and caring group of volunteers met for the first time to raise scholarship funds to make it possible for deserving students from Hempstead High School to attend Hofstra University.

The Hempstead for Hofstra/Hofstra for Hempstead Committee awards scholarships and strengthens the bond between the Village of Hempstead and Hofstra University with the annual presentation of the prestigious Unispan Award. This award is presented to individuals whose professional or personal lives have enriched the Hempstead community. Organizations may also be chosen for service to their community.

The spirit of the founding members of the Hempstead for Hofstra/Hofstra for Hempstead Committee lives on as the current members volunteer their time and efforts to raise scholarship funds and continue their mission to cultivate the bond between the Village of Hempstead and Hofstra University.



### 2017 Hempstead for Hofstra/ Hofstra for Hempstead Committee

George Sandas, Chair+

Frederick E. Davis Jr.\*
The Rev. Dr. Sedgwick Vaughn Easley+
Leo Fernandez+
Dr. Rodney Gilmore+
Alan Hodish, Esq.+
Henry Holley+
Regina Lattimore+
Kennetha Pettus+
Raymond Raia

Harry Ransom+
Charles Renfroe+
Gladys Rivera
Ruth Roberson+
Keith Senko
Djuana Wilson
Steven Wilson Jr.+
Joseph Wing\*+

\*Hofstra alumnus +Past Unispan Award recipient