If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Fall 2015 Academic Calendar and Deadlines

Not all courses conform to the standard session dates. Please see individual courses for exact dates.

Subject to change.

Academic Calendar & Deadlines

Date Day(s)  
March 1 Sunday Registration begins for Graduate and Senior class standing students at 10pm
March 8 Sunday Registration begins for Junior class standing students at 10pm
March 15 Sunday Registration begins for Sophomore class standing students at 10pm
March 22 Sunday Registration begins for Freshmen class standing students at 10pm
September 2 Wednesday Classes Begin. (Convocation during common hour, 11:15-12:40pm.)
September 7 Monday Labor Day Holiday - University Closed.
September 8 Tuesday Last day to register or add a class online
September 9 Wednesday Department permission required to add classes. Override form required to register.
September 14-15 Monday & Tuesday Classes not in session.
September 16 Wednesday Conversion Day – ALL classes follow a MONDAY schedule.
September 17 Thursday Conversion Day – ALL classes follow a TUESDAY schedule.
September 22 Tuesday No Evening classes
September 23 Wednesday Classes not in session.
September 29 Tuesday Absolute last day to register or add a class
September 30 Wednesday Last day to drop a course without receiving a "W" grade on transcript.
October 12 Monday Last day to file the Pass/D/D+/Fail form
November 10 Tuesday Last day to file the Repeat Course form
Last day to withdraw from an individual course - for Undergraduate students.
Note: For courses shorter than 15 weeks, the student must withdraw within the first 2/3 of the course.
November 26-28 Thursday-Saturday Thanksgiving Break - Classes not in session.
December 10 Thursday Last day to completely withdraw for all courses - for Undergraduate students.
December 11 Friday Snow/Study/Reading day for Undergraduate classes only. Graduate classes meet.
    Last day to withdraw from a course - for Graduate students.
December 14-19 Monday-Saturday Final exams for all classes.
December 19 Saturday Semester ends.
December 20 Sunday Commencement (subject to change)

Students are responsible for adhering to the published deadlines. Click the Fee Information tab at the top of the page for important information regarding fees.

Note: unregistered students who remain in courses will not be allowed to register after this deadline and will forfeit any credits/grades that they feel they are entitled to by virtue of attending the course(s) in question.

Fee Information

June 1 Monday Late registration fee for Continuing Undergraduates begins ($100) begins
August 3 Monday Bill payment due
August 4 Tuesday Late payment fee assessed ($100)
    Late registration fee for Continuing Undergraduates increases $200
September 2-8 Wednesday-Tuesday 100% Tuition refund
September 9 Wednesday Change of program fee begins ($25)
    Late registration fee for all students begins ($300)
September 9-15 Wednesday-Tuesday 75% Tuition Refund
September 15 Tuesday Late payment fee assessed ($150)
September 16-22 Wednesday-Tuesday 50% Tuition Refund
September 23-29 Wednesday-Tuesday 25% Tuition Refund
October 1 Thursday Late graduation filing fee for December graduation- for Undergraduate students ($50)
    Late graduation filing fee for December graduation- for Graduate students ($25)
October 15 Thursday Late Payment fee assessed ($250)

**PLEASE BE AWARE THAT FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE ONCE THE TERM BEGINS** 

THE TUITION REFUND SCHEDULE ABOVE ONLY APPLIES TO FULL SEMESTER COURSES. SHORTER DEADLINES APPLY TO SHORTER COURSES. STUDENTS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR TUITION & FEES, IN ACCORDANCE WITH UNIVERSITY POLICY, REGARDLESS OF CLASS ATTENDANCE.

NOTE: UNREGISTERED STUDENTS WHO REMAIN IN COURSES WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO REGISTER AFTER THIS DEADLING AND WILL FORFEIT ANY CREDITS/GRADES THAT THEY FEEL THEY ARE ENTITLED TO BY VIRTUE OF ATTENDING THE COURSE(S) IN QUESTION.


Click here for the School of Law Academic Calendar.