If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Fall 2017 Session Academic Calendar & Deadlines

Not all courses conform to the standard session dates. Please see individual courses for exact dates.

Subject to change.

Date Day(s)  
March 5 Sunday Registration begins for Graduate and Senior class standing students at 10pm
March 12 Sunday Registration begins for Junior class standing students at 10pm
March 19 Sunday Registration begins for Sophomore class standing students at 10pm
March 26 Sunday Registration begins for Freshmen class standing students at 10pm
September 4 Monday Labor Day Holiday - University Closed
September 5 Tuesday Classes Begin
September 6 Wednesday Convocation Ceremony during common hour, 11:15-12:40pm
September 11 Monday Last day to register or add a class online
September 12 Tuesday Department permission required to add classes. Override form required to register
October 2 Monday Last day to drop a course without receiving a "W" grade on transcript.
October 3 Tuesday Absolute last day to register or add a class
October 9 Monday Last day to file the Pass/D/D+/Fail form
October 16 & 17 Monday & Tuesday Classes not in session
 November 13 Monday Last day to file the Repeat Course form
Last day to withdraw from an individual course - for Undergraduate students
Note: For courses shorter than 15 weeks, the student must withdraw within the first 2/3 of the course.
November 22-25 Wednesday-Sunday Thanksgiving Break - Classes not in session
December 11 Monday Last day to completely withdraw for all courses - for Undergraduate students
December 12 & 13 Tuesday & Wednesday Snow/Study/Reading day for Undergraduate classes only. Graduate classes meet.
Last day to withdraw from a course - for Graduate students
December 14-20 Thursday-Wednesday Final exams for all classes
December 20 Wednesday Semester ends
December 20 Wednesday (Evening) Commencement

Students are responsible for adhere to the published deadlines. Click the "Fee Information" tab at the top of the page for important information regarding refunds and fees.

Note: Unregistered students who remain in courses will not be allowed to register after this deadline and will forfeit any credits/grades that they feel they are entitled to by virtue of attending the course(s) in question.

Date Day(s) Deadline
June 1, 2017 Thursday Late Registration Fee begins ($100)
August 1, 2017 Tuesday Bill payment due
August 2, 2017 Wednesday Late payment fee assessed ($100)
August 4, 2017 Friday Late registration fee for Continuing Undergraduates increases to $200
Through September 11, 2017 Monday 100% Tuition refund
September 12, 2017 Tuesday Change of program fee begins ($25)
September 12, 2017 Tuesday Late registration fee for all students begins ($300)
September 12-18, 2017 Tuesday-Monday 75% Tuition Refund
September 15, 2017 Friday Late payment fee assessed ($150)
September 19-25, 2017 Tuesday-Monday 50% Tuition Refund
September 26 - October 2, 2017 Tuesday-Monday 25% Tuition Refund
October 1, 2017 Sunday Late graduation filing fee for December graduation ($50)
October 15, 2017 Sunday Late Payment fee assessed ($250)

**PLEASE BE AWARE THAT FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE ONCE THE TERM BEGINS** 

THE TUITION REFUND SCHEDULE ABOVE ONLY APPLIES TO FULL SEMESTER COURSES. SHORTER DEADLINES APPLY TO SHORTER COURSES. STUDENTS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR TUITION & FEES, IN ACCORDANCE WITH UNIVERSITY POLICY, REGARDLESS OF CLASS ATTENDANCE.

NOTE: UNREGISTERED STUDENTS WHO REMAIN IN COURSES WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO REGISTER AFTER THIS DEADLING AND WILL FORFEIT ANY CREDITS/GRADES THAT THEY FEEL THEY ARE ENTITLED TO BY VIRTUE OF ATTENDING THE COURSE(S) IN QUESTION.


Click here for the School of Law Academic Calendar.