If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Skip to Main Content
Great Writers, Great Readings

Monday, November 14, 2011, 7 p.m.

Gerald Stern

Gerald Stern

Gerald Stern is the author of 15 books of poetry, including Everything is Burning, as well as This Time: New and Selected Poems, which won the 1998 National Book Award.  The paperback of his personal essays, titled What I Can’t Bear Losing, was published in fall 2009 by Trinity University Press.  He was awarded the 2005 Wallace Stevens Award by the Academy of American Poets and is currently a chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.  He has been published in every leading magazine, including The New Yorker, The New Republic, The Nation and The Atlantic.  A new book of poems, Save the Last Dance, was released in 2008, and a first volume of his collected poems, Early Collected: Poems from 1965-1992, was released in 2010. Both were published by W. W. Norton. He was the 2010 recipient of the Medal of Honor by the Academy of Arts and Letters.

Leo A. Guthart Cultural Center Theater
Joan and Donald E. Axinn Library, First Floor, South Campus

All Great Writers, Great Readings events are free and open to the public.
For more information, please call (516) 463-5410 or visit