#### Minutes Hofstra University Senate Faculty Affairs Committee October 6, 2017 Axinn Library 411 10:30 a.m.-11:30 p.m.

Present: Donna Balson, Francesca Cassio, Lisa Filippi, Holly Seirup, Terri Shapiro, Gina Sorrentino,
Absent: Russell Chun, Conrad Herold, Rina Hirsch, Maureen Houck, Georgina Martorella, Dennis Mazzocco, James Sample, Xiang Fu

# **ADJUNCT TEACHER OF THE YEAR**

Last semester, the FAC recommended that Teacher of the Year Awards should include adjuncts. The Provost's Office accepted the recommendation. Terri Shapiro requested details of the recommendation to take to Provost Simmons. The FAC may be asked to provide further input on the structure and implementation of the Adjunct Awards going forward.

## TEMPLATE FOR THE ONLINE SUBMISSION OF FACULTY PROMOTION MATERIAL

Faculty Affairs was asked to look into the online submission process for promotions, specifically. Terri Shapiro advised the committee that she is already engaged in a comprehensive review of the online reappointment/tenure/promotion process to improve workflow and ensure confidentiality. No action is required from FAC at this point.

## PROPOSAL FOR DEPUTY (VICE) SPEAKER

The committee took a few minutes to review a draft proposal prepared by the Speaker of the Faculty, Stuart Bass, for the implementation of the new position of deputy speaker. Some items were found needing clarification, so the document will be sent back to Speaker Bass to prepare a second draft to send back to the FAC.

## PROPOSAL TO REPLACE PAPER CTRs WITH ONLINE FORMAT

Faculty Affairs will discuss whether to recommend the formation of an ad-hoc committee to make recommendations on this proposal.

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

#### **ONLINE PEER EVALUATIONS**

Terri Shapiro requested the FAC's assistance to develop policy and a model for creating an online model for the peer evaluations of online courses. Terri will send some rubrics and other research to the committee.

The meeting Adjourned at 11:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Donna Balson, Adjunct Professor

Chairperson of Faculty Affairs