Program Mission, Vision, and Values

The Hofstra Northwell Department of Physician Assistant Studies’ mission is to create an interprofessional environment that fosters PA leaders and scholars who deliver empathetic, patient-centered care, and promote inclusivity to the diverse populations they serve.

The vision of the Hofstra Northwell Department of Physician Assistant Studies aspires to be an innovative global leader in the preparation of the next generation of PAs.

  •  Lifelong Learning
    The program is committed to promoting the ongoing professional growth and betterment of clinical practice through self-directed learning activities.
  • Innovation
    We facilitate learning with a multimodal approach that is creative, interprofessional, collaborative, and student-centered using the most advanced medical resources and technologies that will provide the student with the tools for lifelong learning.
  • Collaboration
    The program is committed to fostering a learning environment where students partner with members of an interprofessional healthcare team to promote excellence in patient-centered care.
  • Compassion
    We embrace a patient-centered, caring, empathetic approach to the delivery of health care.
  • Excellence
    We are committed to preparing clinically competent PAs that excel in their ability to critically think and problem solve to provide comprehensive patient care.
  • Leadership
    We inspire our students and faculty to positively influence their professional, institutional, and patient care communities.
  • Diversity and Inclusivity
    We instill awareness of and respect for individual cultures by educating our students on the importance of understanding the unique needs of a diverse patient population.
  • Professionalism
    We challenge our students to become exemplary PAs by exhibiting respect, integrity, honesty, and ethical behavior in all circumstances.
  • Scholarship
    We foster an environment that utilizes evidence-based medicine in clinical practice. We also promote the student and faculty’s contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge for the betterment of the profession.

Administration & Faculty

Administration and Support Staff

 

Image
James Scoot Gould
J. Scott Gould, DMSc, PA-C
Chair, Program Director, and Assistant Professor
(516) 463-4411
James.S.Gould@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Gia Raponi
Gia Raponi
Advisement Coordinator
(516) 463-4043
Gia.R.Raponi@hofstra.edu

 

 

Image
Karen Forman
Karen Forman
Secretary
(516) 463-4074
Karen.S.Forman@hofstra.edu

 

Sharon PoulsonSharon Poulson
Secretary
(516) 463-4074
Sharon.Poulson@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Marie Sorrentino
Marie Sorrentino
Senior Assistant
(516) 463-4074
Marie.Sorrentino@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Debra Triolo
Debra Triolo, MS, RHIA
Assessment & Evaluation Analyst/Academic Support
(516) 463-8543
Debra.Triolo@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Katelyn Morgenstern
Katelyn Morgenstern, MBA
Academic Support Specialist
(516) 463-6479
Katelyn.Morgenstern@hofstra.edu

Full Time Faculty

 

Image
Mary Banahan
Mary Banahan, MS, PA-C
Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies,
Dual-Degree Coordinator
(516) 463-4161
Mary.K.Banahan@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Jennifer Duperval
Jennifer Duperval, MS, PA-C
Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies, Clinical Coordinator
(516) 463-6841
Jennifer.P.Duperval@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Thomas Gallo
Thomas Gallo, JD, PA-C
Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies, Clinical Coordinator
(516) 463-4382
Thomas.Gallo@hofstra.edu

 

Image
William Heuser
William Heuser, Pharm D, MS, EMT-P
Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies, Academic Faculty
(516) 463-7008
William.Heuser@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Mark L'Eplattenier
Mark L’Eplattenier, MPAS, PA-C
Associate Director, Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies
(516) 463-1353
Mark.S.Leplattenier@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Carina Loscalzo
Carina Loscalzo, MS, PA-C
Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies, Academic Faculty
(516) 463-4412
Carina.Loscalzo@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Gina Pontrelli
Gina Pontrelli, DHSc, PA-C
Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies, Academic Faculty
(516) 463-4381
Gina.L.Pontrelli@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Shannan Ricoy
Shannan Ricoy, MS, PA-C
Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies, Clinical Coordinator
(516) 463-4233
Shannan.Ricoy@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Amy Roberts
Amy Roberts, MS, PA-C
Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies, Academic Coordinator
(516) 463-7728
Amy.Roberts@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Christina Ventura
Christina M.Ventura, DrPH
Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies, Research Coordinator
(516) 463-4042
Christina.M.Ventura@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Christine Zammit
Christine Zammit, MS, PA-C
Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies, Academic Coordinator
(516) 463-4380
Christine.Zammit@hofstra.edu

Adjunct Faculty

 

Image
Armand Abulencia
Armand E Abulencia, MD
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies
Armand.E.Abulencia@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Joseph Cervia
Joseph S. Cervia, MD
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies
joseph.s.cervia@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Kim Cossaro
Kimberly A. Cossaro, PA-C
Adjunct Instructor of Physician Assistant Studies
Kimberly.A.Cossaro@hofstra.edu

 

Garry S. RitterGarry S. Ritter, BS, MHA
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies
Garry.S.Ritter@hofstra.edu

 

Image
Matthew Shebes
Matthew L. Shebes, MS, MHA
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies
Matthew.L.Shebes@hofstra.edu

 

Ashok N. Vaswani, MDAshok N. Vaswani, MD
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies
Ashok.N.Vaswani@hofstra.edu