If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Academic Records

Fall 2016 Session Academic Calendar & Deadlines

Not all courses conform to the standard session dates. Please see individual courses for exact dates.

Subject to change.

Date Day(s)  
February 28 Sunday Registration begins for Graduate and Senior class standing students at 10pm
March 6 Sunday Registration begins for Junior class standing students at 10pm
March 13 Sunday Registration begins for Sophomore class standing students at 10pm
March 20 Sunday Registration begins for Freshmen class standing students at 10pm
September 5 Monday Labor Day Holiday - University Closed.
September 6 Tuesday Classes Begin.
September 7 Wednesday Convocation Ceremony during common hour, 11:15-12:40pm.
September 12 Monday Last day to register or add a class online
September 13 Tuesday Department permission required to add classes. Override form required to register.
September 26 Monday Classes not in session.
October 3 Monday Last day to drop a course without receiving a "W" grade on transcript.
October 3 Monday Absolute last day to register or add a class
October 10 Monday Last day to file the Pass/D/D+/Fail form
October 17 & 18 Monday & Tuesday Classes not in session.
November 14 Monday Last day to file the Repeat Course form
    Last day to withdraw from an individual course - for Undergraduate students.
Note: For courses shorter than 15 weeks, the student must withdraw within the first 2/3 of the course.
November 23-26 Wednesday-Saturday Thanksgiving Break - Classes not in session.
December 12 Monday Last day to completely withdraw for all courses - for Undergraduate students.
December 13 Tuesday Conversion Day - schedules will follow a Monday schedule
    Last day to withdraw from a course - for Graduate students.
December 14 Wednesday Snow/Study/Reading day for Undergraduate classes only. Graduate classes meet.
December 15-21 Thursday-Wednesday Final exams for all classes.
December 21 Wednesday Semester ends.
December 21  Wednesday (Evening) Commencement

Students are responsible for adhere to the published deadlines. Click the "Fee Information" tab at the top of the page for important information regarding refunds and fees.

Note: Unregistered students who remain in courses will not be allowed to register after this deadline and will forfeit any credits/grades that they feel they are entitled to by virtue of attending the course(s) in question.

Deadline Date Day
Late Registration Fee begins ($100) June 1, 2016 Wednesday
Bill Payment due August 1, 2016 Monday
Late Payment Fee Assessed ($100) August 2, 2016 Tuesday
Late Registration fee for Continuing Undergraduates increases to $200 August 4, 2016 Thursday
100% Tuition Refund Through September 12, 2016
Change of Program fee begins ($25) September 13, 2016 Tuesday
Late Registration fee ($300) for all students September 14, 2016 Wednesday
75% Tuition Refund September 13  - 19, 2016 Tuesday - Monday
Late Payment Fee Assessed ($150) September 15, 2016 Thursday
50% Tuition Refund September 20 - 26, 2016 Tuesday - Monday
25% Tuition Refund September 27  - October 3, 2016 Tuesday - Monday
Late graduation filing fee for December graduation  October 1, 2016 Saturday
Late payment fee assessed ($250) October 15, 2016 Saturday

**PLEASE BE AWARE THAT FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE ONCE THE TERM BEGINS** 

THE TUITION REFUND SCHEDULE ABOVE ONLY APPLIES TO FULL SEMESTER COURSES. SHORTER DEADLINES APPLY TO SHORTER COURSES. STUDENTS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR TUITION & FEES, IN ACCORDANCE WITH UNIVERSITY POLICY, REGARDLESS OF CLASS ATTENDANCE.

NOTE: UNREGISTERED STUDENTS WHO REMAIN IN COURSES WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO REGISTER AFTER THIS DEADLING AND WILL FORFEIT ANY CREDITS/GRADES THAT THEY FEEL THEY ARE ENTITLED TO BY VIRTUE OF ATTENDING THE COURSE(S) IN QUESTION.


Click here for the School of Law Academic Calendar.