First Generation Pride

First-Gen Family

First Gen Committee

A task force was created in the spring of 2015 to investigate how the University might better support its community of first-generation college students. One year later, this group produced an executive report outlining 12 steps the University could take. In the fall of 2016, committees were formed to begin work on these 12 recommendations. Today, there is one First Generation Committee comprised of administrators, faculty, and graduate students that work to provide resources to first-generation Hofstra students, and to develop a community of pride for current and former first-gen students at Hofstra. The Committee plans social and educational programming, facilitates mentorship opportunities, pursues funding and scholarship opportunities, and works to educate the campus community about the talents first-generation college students bring to Hofstra.

In the spring of 2018, the Committee was very pleased to announce that they had worked to receive designation from The Center for First-generation Students at NASPA (the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators), making Hofstra a First-Gen Forward Institution. This designation was given to only 80 colleges and universities in the country leading the way in supporting first-generation college student success. Participation in this cohort further sets Hofstra apart as a leader in first-generation student support.

In May of 2018, the First Generation Committee was recognized by the Division of Student Affairs with the Teamwork Award at their yearly awards celebration.

All individuals on this committee are committed to the support of first-generation students, with many of them having been first-gen themselves. Feel free to reach out to any committee member listed to learn more about the work we do. If you are interested in joining the committee, please email russ.d.smith@hofstra.edu.

Image
Smith

Russ Smith – Committee Chair
Director of Residential Education
516-463-6931 | Email

Image
Alexandra Attanasio

Alex Attanasio
Resident Director
516-463-6935 | Email

Image
Gabriela Baez

Gabriela Baez
Academic Advisor
516-463-4092 | Email

Image
boscarino

Jennifer Boscarino-Green
Senior Associate Dean – Center for University Advising
516-463-6770 | Email

Image
Mechelle Grayson

Mechellé Grayson
Assistant Director Equity, Inclusion, and Campus Partnerships – Center for Career Design and Development
Email

Image
Darlene Johnson

Darlene Johnson
Director of External Relations – Center for Career Design and Development
516-463-6060 | Email

Image
Kravitz

Adrienne Kravitz
Associate Director – Campus Recreation
516-463-6926 | Email

Image
lotier

Kristopher Lotier
Assistant Professor
Writing Studies & Rhetoric
516-463-6282 | Email

Image
mcguire

Beth McGuire
Director – Residence Life
516-463-6930 | Email

Image
Angela Monahan

Angela Monahan
Career Advisor – Center for Career Design and Development
Email

Image
Porcelli

Anthony J. Porcelli
Assistant Dean - Communication, Advancement, and Engagement - School of Health Professions
516-463-6770 | Email

Image
Renz

David Renz
Student Success Advisor – Center for Academic Excellence
516-463-2000 | Email

Image
Bryan Rothstein

Bryan Rothstein
Senior Associate Dean of Admission
516-463-7465 | Email

Image
montalvo

Kimberly Sloan-Montalvo
Assistant Dean – Center for University Advising: Communications & HCLAS
516-463-6770 | Email

Image
vetri

Sarah Vetri
Resident Director
Residence Life
516-463-7990 | Email

First Generation: Faculty & Staff

The following is a listing of some faculty and staff members at Hofstra who also were first in their family to go to college. Because of this, they are uniquely aware of the skills and assets first-generation students possess, as well as the challenges they face. Consider reaching out to someone on this list for advice or support, knowing they have been in the same place as you. All individuals listed here have volunteered to serve as a support to first-generation students.

If you would are a member of the faculty or staff who was also first in their family to go to college, and would like your name listed, please email Russ.d.Smith@Hofstra.edu

Faculty

Name Department Email
Pepa Anastasio Romance Languages and Literatures Maria.J.Anastasio@hofstra.edu
James Battaglia Occupational Therapy James.Battaglia@hofstra.edu
Vandana Bindra Chemistry Vandana.Bindra@hofstra.edu
Kevin Bisceglia Chemistry Kevin.J.Bisceglia@hofstra.edu
Joseph Cervia School of Medicine Jcervia@northwell.edu
Royston Coppenger Drama and Dance Royston.P.Coppenger@hofstra.edu
Christopher Czerwonka School of Law Christopher.E.Czerwonka@hofstra.edu
Vicki Dearing LLM Health Law and Policy Vicki.M.Dearing@hofstra.edu
Andrea Efthymiou Writing Studies & Rhetoric Andrea.R.Efthymiou@hofstra.edu
Paul Fritz Political Science Paul.Fritz@hofstra.edu
Esther Fusco Teacher Education Preparation Esther.Fusco@hofstra.edu
Marc Herbert Physics and Astronomy Marc.L.Herbert@hofstra.edu
Rodney F. Hill Film Rodney.F.Hill@hofstra.edu
Rina  Hirsch Accounting, Taxation, and Legal Studies in Business Rina.Hirsch@hofstra.edu
Donna Iucolano Marketing and International Business Donna.M.Iucolano@hofstra.edu
Gerda Kamberova Computer Science Gerda.L.Kamberova@hofstra.edu
Lori Ann Labalsamo Writing Studies & Rhetoric LoriAnn.T.Labalsamo@hofstra.edu
Kristopher Lotier Writing Studies & Rhetoric Kristopher.M.Lotier@hofstra.edu
Kelly McMasters English Kelly.Mcmasters@hofstra.edu
Paul Meller Psychology Paul.Meller@hofstra.edu
Roseanna  Perotti Political Science Rosanna.Perotti@hofstra.edu
Bradley Phillippi Anthropology Bradley.Phillippi@hofstra.edu
Stanislao Pugliese History Stanislao.G.Pugliese@hofstra.edu
Gail Satler Sociology Gail.R.Satler@hofstra.edu
Robert Seagull Biology Robert.W.Seagull@hofstra.edu
Victoria Semple Journalism, Media Studies, & Public Relations Victoria.Semple@hofstra.edu
Katrina Sims History Katrina.Sims@hofstra.edu
Alan Singer Teaching, Learning, & Technology Alan.J.Singer@hofstra.edu
John Teehan Religion John.P.Teehan@hofstra.edu
Mary Anne Trasciatti Rhetoric and Public Advocacy Mary.Anne.Trasciatti@hofstra.edu
John C. Vaccaro Mechanical Engineering John.C.Vaccaro@hofstra.edu
Jason Williams Biology Jason.D.Williams@hofstra.edu
David Woolwine University Library David.Woolwine@hofstra.edu

Administrators

Name Title Email
Lori Anderson-Turczyn Administrative Assistant - School of Medicine Lori.AndersonTurczyn@hofstra.edu
Gillian Atkinson Director of Intercultural Engagement and Inclusion Gillian.Atkinson@Hofstra.edu
Jennifer Boscarino-Green Senior Associate Dean and Director for Strategic Outreach and Retention Iniatives JBG@hofstra.edu
Christina Cacioppo Bertsch Associate Dean, Center for University Advising Christina.Cacioppobertsch@hofstra.edu
Jenna Campolieta External Relations Coordinator jenna.campolieta@hofstra.edu
Stanley Cherian Director of Orientation orientation@hofstra.edu
Anita Ellis Director, Commuting Student Services Anita.Ellis@hofstra.edu
Ashley Gray Pre-Health Advisor, Center for University Advising Ashley.Gray@hofstra.edu
Diane Herbert Director of the Center for Academic Excellence Diane.Herbert@hofstra.edu
Nikki Hancock-Nicholson Coordinator for Student Success & Student Affairs Operations Nikki.HancockNicholson@hofstra.edu
Darlene Johnson Director of External Relations, The Career Center Darlene.Johnson@hofstra.edu
Branka Kristic Director, Parent and Family Programs Branka.Kristic@hofstra.edu
Beth McGuire Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Residence Life Margaret.B.McGuireFredericks@hofstra.edu
Sandy Mervius Director of Financial Aid Sandra.A.Mervius@hofstra.edu
Ellen Miller Associate Dean for STEM and Pre Health Advising, Center for University Advising Ellen.C.Miller@hofstra.edu
Pat Montagano Senior Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Campus Recreation Patricia.a.montagano@hofstra.edu
Zaibis Muños Isme Associate Vice President Zaibis.Munoz@hofstra.edu
Anthony Porcelli Assistant Dean of Communication, Advancement, and Engagement, School of Health Professions Anthony.J.Porcelli@hofstra.edu
Novia Ramsay Director of Residential Operations Novia.P.Ramsay@Hofstra.edu
Bryan Rothstein Senior Associate Dean of Admission Bryan.Rothstein@hofstra.edu
Gina Sandoval Assistant Dean, Center for University Advising Gina.M.Sandoval@hofstra.edu
Kimberly Sloan-Montalvo Assistant Dean, Center for University Advising Kimberly.Sloan@hofstra.edu
Russ Smith Director of Residential Education & Director of First-Generation Success Initiatives Russ.D.Smith@hofstra.edu
Jackson Snellings Dir. Information Technology Services for Hofstra Law Jackson.T.Snellings@hofstra.edu
Sarah Vetri Resident Director, Residence Life Sarah.M.Vetri@hofstra.edu
Louise M. Waters Staff Psychologist Louise.M.Waters@hofstra.edu

First Generation Alumni

We would love to connect with our Hofstra Alumni who are First-Gen grads! We would love to hear from you and there is plenty of opportunity to participate with current Hofstra First-Gen students in the form of program involvement or mentorship. Email us at FirstGen@hofstra.edu, and please also consider following us on our social media below:

Image
Alumni