Diversity Advisory Board

The Diversity Advisory Board is a group of diverse Hofstra student leaders representing a variety of backgrounds who meet regularly to consider and discuss matters concerning diversity and student life. The Board identifies ways to educate about diversity, advocate for marginalized people, and provide guidance as Hofstra addresses community issues.

What do we mean when we use the word diversity?
The Board defines "diversity" as an inclusive community of people with varied human characteristics, practices, beliefs, ideas, and world views whose interactions both benefit and challenge each other to grow, while making the community more welcoming and inclusive.

The goals of the Board shall include, but not be limited to the following:

  • Work with and advise the Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer
  • Educate, discuss, evaluate, and share matters of diversity to enhance and foster an inclusive and welcoming campus environment
  • Develop an effective means of communication about diversity issues with all segments and levels of the community
  • Advocate for the recruitment and representation of diverse students, faculty, and staff and encourage diversity initiatives that enhance retention, advancement, and engagement of diverse people throughout the University
  • Celebrate the differences in people and intersections of identity without attaching values


Hofstra University promotes an institutional culture that values and supports diversity, equity, and inclusion. The Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer (CDIO) serves as the primary advocate for the University’s equity agenda by developing and facilitating strategies, decision-making, agenda setting, and actions necessary to advance equity at all levels of the University.

Read More

Meet the Diversity Advisory Board 2021-2022


Sarah Stauffer is a senior at Hofstra graduating in December 2022. She is a double major in Global Studies and Public Policy and Public Service with minors in Women's Studies and Sociology. She is also a fellow for the Center for Civic Engagement and advocates/educates on the topics of Human Trafficking, Gender-Based Violence, and Toxic Masculinity. She joined the Student Diversity Advisory Board to provide a voice for her fellow students and advocate for issues that affect students directly at Hofstra and to try to build a bridge between students and members of Hofstra's administration. 


Whitney Goodison is a freshman at Hofstra University majoring in Marketing and Psychology. The importance of advocating for people of color, at any institution, has never been lost on her. Therefore, having and accepting the opportunity to join SDAB was a no-brainer. The SDAB has provided a safe space for student representatives to be the voice of communities across Hofstra with the goal of change in mind. Whitney hopes to be a vital part of this board for years to come.

Elizabeth Flores-Amaya

Elizabeth Flores-Amaya is a member of the class of 2023, majoring in Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL). She is also a Center for Civic Engagement fellow working with the Hofstra and Hempstead community. Elizabeth joined the Student Diversity Advisory Board because she wanted to provide a voice for graduate and commuting students. She also joined because she is passionate about diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Kashmiraa Pandit

Kashmiraa Pandit is currently a freshman at Hofstra University majoring in Political Science. She decided to join the Student Diversity Advisory Board to support and promote the student perspective at Hofstra University. She believes the Student Diversity Advisory Board seeks to offer students an avenue to express the changes they would like to see on campus; through the SDAB, students come together to share experiences and learn of new ways to improve the campus around them. Through serving on the Student Diversity Advisory Board, she hopes to foster inclusivity and accessibility while enhancing the student experience at Hofstra University.

Diversity Advisory Board Alumni

Rojanaye Daley

Rojanaye Daley, Class of 2021

Brittany Johnson

Brittany Johnson, Class of 2021

Alexa Osner

Alexa Osner, Class of 2021

Ashe Davis

Ashe Davis, Class of 2020

Zain Farooqui

Zain Farooqui, Class of 2020

Serena Payne

Serena Payne, Class of 2020

Shanique Reid

Shanique Reid, Class of 2020


Ben Martin, Class of 2019


Maryam Qureshi, Class of 2019


Genesis Rivera, Class of 2019


Lola Solis, Class of 2019


Mana Tadbiri, Class of 2019


Antonio Agcaoili, Class of 2018


Raven Cordice, Class of 2018


Carrisa Anderson, Class of 2017


Ashley Franks, Class of 2017


Sarah Harris, Class of 2017


Brianna Holcomb, Class of 2017