Zassenhaus Groups & Friends Conference

May 27–29 and June 4, 2022


The Department of Mathematics at Hofstra University is pleased to host the 2022 Zassenhaus Group and Friends Conference. The conference will consist of two rounds of talks: May 27–29 online through Zoom and June 4 in person at Hofstra University.

This conference continues the series of Ohio State-Denison Mathematics Conferences first organized in the 1960’s by Hans Zassenhaus. In addition to established mathematicians, the organizers would like to invite graduate students and young group theorists to consider attending. All speakers will be given equal time, typically 20 minutes. The archive of past conferences is available at the conference series web page.

Conference Registration

Registration is free. There is no registration deadline for the conference. The deadline for abstract submission is May 20, 2022. The in-person part of the conference takes place on Saturday, June 4 from 10:30am to 5:30pm.

Program and Abstracts

The program is now available.

Local Information

In-person talks will be held at Hofstra University in Roosevelt Hall, Room 108. See this pdf map for the location of Roosevelt Hall. There is a free parking area nearby, next to Breslin Hall. Travel directions to the campus of Hofstra University can be found here. The conference will follow Hofstra’s event guidelines.

The conference room is equipped with a beamer which can be utilized either by connecting your own laptop (HDMI, no login needed) or through the existing podium PC (the organizers will login into it). In the latter case the presentation should be emailed to Zoran Sunik at ahead of time or brought on a USB stick. The room also has a large whiteboard affixed to the wall, about 18 feet wide, that can be used for presentations. The screen for the beamer covers only about half of the whiteboard, so it is possible to use a combined beamer/whiteboard approach.


Local Committee:
Zoran Sunic,

Permanent Committee:
Zekeriya Karatas,

To sign-up for email updates about this and future Zassenhaus conferences, please follow this link.

Conference Organizing Committee:

  • Fernando Guzman, Binghamton University
  • Luise Kappe, Binghamton University (emeritus)
  • Zekeriya (Yalcin) Karatas, University of Cinncinnati Blue Ash College
  • Arturo Magidin, University of Louisiana - Lafayette
  • Hung Tong-Viet, Binghamton University

Local Organizing Committee:

  • Kira Adaricheva, Hofstra University
  • Eric Rowland, Hofstra University
  • Zoran Sunic, Hofstra University