Student Government Association

The Student Government Association (SGA) is Hofstra University’s student-run governing body and is composed of full-time undergraduate students that act as a liaison between Hofstra students and the University’s faculty, administration, and Board of Trustees. SGA has three branches: the Senate, Cabinet, and Judicial Panel. In addition to serving as the primary representative for the interest of the student body on a University level, SGA plans and executes multiple programs and initiatives throughout the academic year and oversees the finances of over 180 clubs and organizations. Any undergraduate student who meets the minimum GPA requirement and is eligible to vote in SGA elections is eligible to join. The more passionate students we have working with us, the more we can do for Hofstra, so consider joining SGA during our next round of elections!

SGA is involved in addressing student concerns and the betterment of student life. Currently, SGA is split into two committee categories: Logistic and Advocacy. Logistic committees include Appropriations, Club Resources, Communications, and Programming. The Advocacy committees are Academic Affairs, Equity and Inclusion, Facilities and Operations, and Wellness and Campus Safety. All these committees work to advance the needs and interests of the student body, as well as support and assist clubs in their endeavors. With all that Hofstra offers, all you need is the motivation and desire to get involved. Let SGA help you find your home on campus.

  • President Lincoln Anniballi is a junior, Political Science and History double major, with a minor in Philosophy of Law. He is from Natick, Massachusetts. 
  • Vice President Sydney Livingston is a sophomore, Business Management major with a double minor in Political Science and Legal Studies. She is from Allen, Texas.
  • Lincoln and Sydney are so excited to engage and collaborate with all members of the Hofstra community and lead the undergraduate student body! Their mission is to make Hofstra a better place by building a stronger community, advocating for students, and ensuring everyone has the opportunity to reach their potential, in and out of the classroom. Lincoln and Sydney will work towards this goal everyday through key initiatives that constitute their platform including:
    • Provide better support for each student at Hofstra. They will work to aid clubs and organizations, revitalize the Hofstra yearbook, and host engaging events for the student body.
    • Lincoln and Sydney are dedicated to advocacy. They will advocate for diversity, equity, and inclusion, mental health support and awareness, facilities improvements, extended hours of operations, and a more environmentally sustainable campus.
    • To maximize opportunities for all students Lincoln and Sydney will work with the Provost to get 18th credits included in tuition, supporting commuters, and ensuring students have optimal research opportunities. 
  • Lincoln and Sydney cannot wait to engage with the students at Hofstra as President and Vice President of SGA as they work towards making Hofstra a better place!

The Cabinet is the executive body of SGA. Cabinet members direct the activities of their committee to best benefit the student body. The Cabinet is composed of the Committee Chairs, along with the President, Vice President, Secretary, and Comptroller.

  • Secretary: Makayla Egolf
  • Comptroller: Justin Fountain
  • Appropriations Chair: Sydney Greenlaw
  • Club Resources Chair: Cristianna Giovanangelo Nicotera 
  • Communications Chair: Ava DiSanto
  • Programming Chair: Hayden Schmidt 
  • Academic Affairs Chair: Kashmiraa Pandit
  • Equity and Inclusion Chair: Dallas Jackson
  • Facilities and Operations Chair: Shirley Guenfoud
  • Wellness and Campus Safety Chair: Leah Wrazin

The Student Government Association (SGA) Judicial Panel is the highest judicial body within the Student Government Association at Hofstra University and is comprised of five full-time undergraduate students elected by the student body. The Judicial Panel has original jurisdiction with issues between SGA and its consistory, two or more SGA clubs, SGA and an SGA club, an SGA club and a student at Hofstra University, and Student Activities (enforcing an SGA policy) and an SGA club or a student at Hofstra University. In addition, the Judicial Panel has appellate jurisdiction with issues between the Sports Board and a sports club, the Inter-Fraternity/Sorority Council (IFSC) and Inter-Fraternity Council (IFC), Multicultural Fraternity and Sorority Council (MFSC), or the Panhellenic Association (PHC), and the Inter-Fraternity/Sorority Council (IFSC), and any fraternity or sorority.

The Senatorial branch is the highest legislative authority in the Student Government Association and has the authority to pass minutes and approve the actions of all standing committees, including allocation of funds. It further is the body that discusses and debates changes to SGA policies and approves resolutions to be passed up to various offices in the University. Senate meetings follow the rules of Parliamentary Procedure and are chaired by the SGA vice president.

The full-time undergraduate student body elects the Senate. Each senator represents one hundred fifty (150) of their fellow students. Senators serve on one of six standing committees. Each committee is chaired by a senator elected to do so by the full Senate. These chairs serve as both members of the Senate and as members of the Cabinet, the executive body of SGA, and direct the activities of their committee to best benefit the student body. Every committee reports directly to the full Senate.

Unless otherwise voted upon, the Senate must meet at least once per full week of classes during the academic year. Senators are obligated to attend both their committee meetings and Senate meetings, with attendance being monitored and managed by the Ethics and Conduct chair. At Senate meetings, pending legislation is discussed and voted on, clubs seeking to be recognized by the SGA are voted for approval, and each member of the Cabinet, including the president, vice president, and all of the committee chairs, has the opportunity to give a report on their committees' actions.

Senate meets Thursdays at 6 p.m. in the Student Center Greenhouse. Meetings are open to the public.

Joining the Student Government Association can be a life-changing event. If you are looking for a way to get involved, SGA may be the place for you. SGA members are provided countless opportunities for networking, enhancing social skills, gaining professional experience, and advancing leadership skills. Hofstra’s Student Government Association hosts fall and spring elections for any full-time undergraduate student interested in serving the student body.

When you decide to join SGA, you can join as a senator or justice (election-based roles), or an associate (application-based role). For more information on how to get involved, contact or

Missed the last election, but still want to be involved with SGA? Become an associate and help SGA help the student body. Associates are eligible to vote at committee meetings. If you're interested in becoming an associate, contact for more information.

Contact Us

Office Information

Center for Student Collaboration, Student Center 242
200 Hofstra University
Hempstead, NY 11549-2000

9 a.m.-9 p.m.