If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Skip to Main Content

About the English Department

The English Department offers a BA in English and an MFA in Creative Writing with a full range of courses in English, American and Anglophone literatures, creative writing, expository writing, and publishing. For advisement on majoring or minoring in English or applying to the master's program, contact the English Department office.

English Department Office:
204 Mason Hall
(516) 463-5454
Office Hours: Monday-Friday 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Dr. Karyn Valerius
201 Mason Hall
(516) 463-5455
Send an Email

Associate Chairperson:
Dr. Adam Sills
306 Mason Hall
(516) 463-0272
Send an Email

Assistant Chairperson for Advisement
Joseph Fichtelberg
209 Mason Hall
(516) 463-5465
Send an Email

Director of Disability Studies
Dr. Craig Rustici
310 Mason Hall
(516) 463-5829
Send an Email

Director of Publishing Studies
Kelly McMasters
109 Mason Hall
Send an Email

Director of Undergrad Creative Writing
Julia Markus
110 Mason Hall
(516) 463-6294
Send an Email

Editor of Twentieth-Century Literature
Dr. Lee Zimmerman
221 Mason Hall
(516) 463-5460
Send an Email

Editor of AMP
Janet Kaplan
220 Mason Hall
(516) 463-7332
Send an Email

225 Mason Hall

Secretary to the Chair:
Suzanne Viggiano

Secretary to the English Department:
Pauline McInnis

Writing Center
102 Mason Hall
(516) 463-4908

Writing Proficiency Exam
Contact: Eileen Greco
118 Mason Hall
(516) 463-5252

The John Cranford Adams Chair in the Humanities:

Established in 1965 by the Hofstra Alumni Association, The John Cranford Adams Chair in the Humanities honors Hofstra’s President Emeritus Adams. The Chair brings distinguished visiting scholars to the University. Dr. Adams was president of Hofstra from 1945 to 1965. He was a noted Shakespearian scholar with works represented in the Folger Library.

The Chair is currently held by Steven D. Smith, Professor of Classics and Comparative Literature.