If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.


Programs - Department of Engineering

ABET Engineering Accreditation CommissionThree of Hofstra University's Department of Engineering programs (Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Engineering Science) are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET. ABET is the global accreditor of college and university programs in applied science, computing, engineering, and engineering technology. ABET accreditation assures that programs meet standards to produce graduates ready to enter critical technical fields that are leading the way in innovation and emerging technologies, and anticipating the welfare and safety needs of the public.

In addition, the department offers non-ABET accredited, interdisciplinary degree programs leading to a bachelor of science in industrial engineering, a bachelor of arts in engineering science and a new bachelor of science in civil engineering. All programs are offered under the aegis of a single department, creating an organizational structure fostering collegiality among faculty and ensuring that all students are exposed to a variety of engineering disciplinary perspectives.

There are six distinct engineering programs available: