The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication educates students to master, excel in, and provide leadership for the future of media. A curriculum that provides strong technical skills while remaining steadfastly committed to a liberal arts foundation means that our graduates are ready for the jobs out there today, but are also able to adapt to new conditions in the years and decades ahead.

The school was named in 2013 in honor of Lawrence Herbert ’51, inventor of the Pantone Matching System and former chairman and CEO of Pantone, Inc. Mr. Herbert’s transformative commitment allows the Herbert School to innovate and keep pace with a rapidly changing media landscape.

Dean Mark Lukasiewicz

welcomes you to The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication

Mark Lukasiewicz

In order to create an academic environment that embraces diversity of thought and acceptance of all people, the Lawrence Herbert School of Communication is committed to diversity and inclusivity for all students, faculty, and staff. To this end, it is our mission to nurture a sense of belonging and drive change in the direction of building a culture where inclusiveness is a reflex, not an initiative.

Learn More About the Diversity & Inclusion Committee

The purpose of the Alumni Association is to foster, maintain and support a mutually beneficial relationship between alumni and the Herbert School. The Alumni Association Leadership Committee is comprised of Hofstra graduates who provide guidance for the Association's programs and activities, and help steward the mission of the Lawrence Herbert School of Communication through service as ambassadors, advisors, and advocates.

Meet the leadership of the Herbert School Alumni Association.

Dean Luk
Mark Lukasiewicz
(BA with honours, University of Toronto)
Bio | Email
Mario Murillo
Mario A. Murillo
Vice Dean
(MA, New York University)
Bio | Email
Adria Marlowe
Adria Marlowe
Associate Dean
(MA, Hofstra University)
Bio | Email
Michelle Roberts
Michele Roberts
Assistant Dean
(BA, Hofstra University)
Bio | Email
David Henne
David Henne
Director for Student Media Engagement and Content Strategy
(MA, University of Warwick)
Bio | Email
Robyn Crosby
Robyn S. Crosby
Director of Operations, Personnel and Budget
(BA, Hofstra University)
(Paralegal Certificate, Hofstra University)
Bio | Email

The Dean's Advisory Board consists of Herbert School alumni and friends. They are responsible for advising administrators and providing input concerning educational programs, events, student opportunities, facilities and operations. The Dean's Advisory Board is essentially responsible for ensuring that the school continues to flourish in the rapidly changing world of communications and media convergence. The Advisory Board is also a networking tool for students seeking internships and job opportunities upon graduation. Each board member brings something unique to the school and we are proud to introduce each one of them to you.

Eric Lempel '95
Senior Vice President and Head of Global Marketing
Sony Interactive Entertainment

Diane Masciale
Vice President & General Manager, WLIW
Executive Producer, Local Productions, WNET

Stevland Wilson '00
Vice President of Post Production,
Monumental Sports & Entertainment
Immediate Past Chair

John Arianas ‘92
Senior Vice President, Agency Partnerships

Danielle Bibbo ‘99
Executive Vice President of
Business Development and Strategy
ITV America

Mark Bracco ‘92
Silent House Productions

Beth Carey '94
Senior Editorial Producer
HLN Investigations

Heather Cohen '98
The Weiss Agency

Bryan Diperstein ‘09
Agent, CAA

Jill Gershman ‘91
360° Marketing Creative & Media Production Executive

Sherry Goldman '80
Goldman Communications Group

Michael Harrison '71
Founder and Publisher
TALKERS Magazine

Donna Iucolano '86, '88, '94
Assistant Professor, Marketing and Business
Molloy University

Cameron Kadison '03
Founding Partner
Mortar Media

Hillary Needle '89
Hillary Needle Events

Bonnie Optekman
Digital Media Consultant, Voice Over Artist
President, Theater Streams

Steve Rubel '91
Chief Media Ecologist

John Salzinger '93

Vicki Schneps-Yunis
Schneps Communications

Jo Sharon ‘98
Co-CEO, Magical Elves

Michael Sorrentino '05
Founder and Principal
Sorrentino Media
President, Lawrence Herbert School of Communication Alumni Association

Katelin Tinley
Vice President/General Manager,
Cox Media Group Long Island

Jonathan Turell
CEO, Criterion Collection

Lance Ulanoff '86
US Editor in Chief
Tech Radar

Jay Wallace '00
President and Executive Editor
FOX News

Rondell Wescott ‘03
Vice President, Executive Producer

Jamie Whitfield ‘93
Senior Talent Specialist

Yanique Woodall '99
Vice President, Communications, Customer Experience, Retail
CVS Health