If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Skip to Main Content

Department News

Faculty, alumni and current students of the Department were very well represented at the recent Annual Meeting of the Association of American Geographers Conference in Chicago, 18-25 April 2015.

Hofstra Global Studies major, Julie Rafatpanah presented a paper at the AAG Conference in Chicago, and Ashley Persaud, Jaclyn Langella, Jakob Sacket and Clara Schopf all presented posters. Dr. Grant Saff and visiting Professor Fengxia Wang presented a joint paper at the Conference, while Grant Saff, as Treasurer of the AAG, attended Council Meetings and various other official events. A number of our alumni also presented at the meeting. The Annual Meeting of the AAG is the largest global meeting of geographers, and the Chicago meeting attracted around 9,000 attendees from 84 countries.

  • Google Apps
    Ashley Persaud, working as a volunteer at the AAG Meeting in Chicago.
  • Google Apps
    Executive Committee of the AAG: Mona Domash, President (Dartmouth), Laura Smith, Secretary (Macalester College), Grant Saff, Treasurer (Hofstra), Sarah Bednarz, Vice-President (Texas A&M), Douglas Richardson, Executive Director, Julie Winkler, Past-President (Michigan State).