DeMatteis School

About the School

Primarily an undergraduate school committed to educating future generations of engineers and computer scientists, the Fred DeMatteis School of Engineering and Applied Science also offer Master of Science degrees in Cybersecurity, Computer Science, and Engineering Management. These advanced degrees complement our 14 undergraduate degrees available through the Department of Engineering and the Department of Computer Science.

Dean's Message

It is my privilege to serve as dean of the Fred DeMatteis School of Engineering and Applied Science. The DeMatteis School currently serves approximately 785 students pursuing bachelor's degrees and 60 pursuing master’s degrees. The rapid and sustained growth we have experienced over the past seven years is the result of a great demand for graduates who have the skills and knowledge required to work in the technical sector and to contribute immediately to a company's mission in the marketplace. To assist in meeting that demand, our Co-op Program, which was established at the beginning of 2015, has already enlisted approximately 200 companies as partners in hiring interested juniors or seniors for six- to eight-month full-time work experiences prior to graduation.

Read More


Mission Statement

The Fred DeMatteis School of Engineering and Applied Science at Hofstra University recognizes that its primary mission is to provide an optimal educational environment for students to gain an understanding of the world as shaped and designed by engineers and computer scientists, and to gain facility in the use of technology to improve the condition of human life on earth. Successful graduates of the degree programs in the DeMatteis School learn to become critical multidisciplinary thinkers, able to model, analyze and improve complex systems and thereby achieve innovative solutions to problems. They will consequently enter the professional realm, working harmoniously with other talented people, well qualified to tackle projects benefiting humanity.

Read More

Dean's Advisory Board

The DeMatteis School Advisory Board is composed of industry leaders representing New York area high tech firms as well as companies with a national and international profile. Members broadly reflect the spectrum of specialized fields comprising the degree programs offered by the school.

Through twice yearly plenary meetings and more frequent smaller subcommittee interactions with school administrators and faculty, they provide guidance as major stakeholders to ensure the relevance and currency of academic programs in light of industry needs and expectations. Many of their companies are corporate partners in the DeMatteis Co-op program. Individual members are active in the popular Executive Speaker Series, assist in accreditation planning and visits, support student research and other extracurricular activities sponsored by the school, and provide financial support for student scholarships and educational equipment.

William Angle
Director of Mission Critical Engineering
CS Technologies

Doreen Bartoldus, PE, CCM
Water Wastewater Construction Management Leader
Jacobs Engineering

Stephan Bodstrom
Vice President, Finance/Treasurer
Berlin Family Foundation

John D. Cameron, P.E.
Cameron Engineering

Michael P. Delaney '85
Chief Aerospace Safety Officer, Senior Vice President
The Boeing Company

James K. Donaghy '89
Structure Tone

Mireille Genadry ’76
MGEN Consulting

Joseph Heaney III
Walden Associates

Shawn M. Henry '87
CrowdStrike Services, CrowdStrike

Robert Ioanna, PE
Senior Principal
Syska Hennessy Group, New York

Ralph Lambert
President and CEO
Axis Construction Corporation

William J. Lane, MD, PhD
Director of Clinical Lab Informatics
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard University

Scott Nathanson
Product Integration & Automation, Battery NPI Engineering
Apple, Inc.

James Nolan '06
Executive Vice President, Research and Innovation
Inter Digital Communications Corp.

Dr. Ronald Piervincenzi '93
U.S. Pharmacopeia

Michael Petosa
Vice President on Information Technology,
American National Standards Institute (ANSI)

Danyel Racenet ‘97
Senior Director, Research & Development
ENT/Neuroscience Portfolio

Shahriar Rafimayeri ‘88
Chief Information Officer

John Sartor
President and CEO, PS&S
MEPF Engineering

Paul R. Saueracker '78
Retired Chairman and CEO
Minerals Technologies

Shila Shah-Gavnoudias, P.E.
Vice President, Business Leader, Long Island

Anne Shybunko-Moore
CEO and Owner
GSE Dynamics, Inc.

Stephanie Siteman
Senior Third Party Security Leader
Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

Casimir S. Skrypczak '70
Senior Vice President (Retired)
Cisco Systems

Dean Soucy
Senior Vice President
Clever Devices

Chris Wacker '76