If you are having any difficulty using this website, please contact the Help Desk at Help@nullHofstra.edu or 516-463-7777 or Student Access Services at SAS@nullhofstra.edu or 516-463-7075. Please identify the webpage address or URL and the specific problems you have encountered and we will address the issue.

Lawrence Herbert School of Communication

School of Communication Student Presentation and Award Ceremony

Thursday, May 10, 2012
1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Dempster Hall Studio A

Dean' s Welcome: Dr. Evan Cornog


Department of Speech Communication, Rhetoric, Performance Studies
Introduction: Dr. Matthew Sobnosky
Research Presentation: Calla Hales
"A Tune as Old as Song: The Communications of Women in Disney
Animated Film"

Department of Radio, Television, Film
Introduction- Dr. Nancy Kaplan
Research Presentation: Justin Fiksel
"Video Description for Television: Making Television Accessible for
People Who are Blind"

Department of Journalism, Media Studies, Public Relations
Introduction: Dr. Mary Ann Allison
Research Presentation: Shea Molloy
"Information & Communication Technologies for Development:
An Exploration with Visualizing Data"


Dean's Welcome: Dr. Evan Cornog

Department of Speech Communication, Rhetoric, Performance Studies
Presenter: Dr. Larry Russell
Recipient- Rachel Kugelmass

Department of Radio, Television, Film

Film Studies Dr. Ethan DeSeife-Presenter
Recipient Elizabeth Monzillo

Film Production: Prof. Phil Katzman - Presenter
Recipient- Michael Cutrone

TV-BA: Dr. Nancy Kaplan-Presenter
Recipient- Ashley Adam

TV-BS: Prof. Douglas Morrow-Presenter
Recipient- Sarah Radley & Jocilyn Martin

TV& Film - BS: George Nicholas-Presenter
Recipient- Justin Fiskel

TV & Business – BS: Dr. Dennis Mazzocco-Presenter
Recipient- James Benesh

Radio Prof. Dennis Quinn - Presenter
Recipient- Kenneth Dunn

Department of Journalism, Media Studies, Public Relations
Mass Media Studies: Dr. Mary Ann Allison-Presenter
Recipient- Shea Molloy

Print/Online Journalism: Prof. Peter Goodman-Presenter
Recipient- Max Sass

Broadcast Journalism: Prof. Gregg Smith- Presenter
Recipient- Brittany Auger

Public Relations: Prof. Jeff Morosoff- Presenter
Recipient- Rebecca Wool

Closing Remarks: Associate Dean Marc Oppenheim