Hofstra University


The Hofstra University Senate is shared governance at its best – members represent faculty, administration, staff, and students. Faculty senators are elected by their school/unit colleagues; students and staff hold their own elections; and the Senate includes one representative from the chairs and one from the deans. In addition, administrators are invited to join at the behest of the Provost with the approval of the full body. The Senate meets once a month during the academic year to discuss ideas that are weighty and interesting – moving often to resolutions that will improve our campus, our academics, our working lives, and our many constituents. These resolutions then go to the Full University Faculty for discussion and usually adoption.

Senate terms are three years, and have a three-term limit. Senate participation requires attendance at monthly Senate meetings, held at 1 p.m. on the second Monday of the month. In addition, Senators are assigned to one of five Senate committees; those committees also meet once a month at scheduled times set by the committee members and the committee chair. The committees are Undergraduate Academic Affairs, Graduate Academic Affairs, Planning and Budget, Faculty Affairs, and Student Affairs.

If you are interested in becoming involved with the University Senate, please contact Caroline Schreiner at (516) 463-5419.

Faculty Policy Series (FPS)

The Faculty Policy Series sets forth the policies and procedures for faculty members.


Students interested in joining the University Senate for the current year in progress can submit their information to the University Senate office.

For information on the many areas our committees and sub-committees cover, please refer to our bylaws.

The Student Affairs Committee makes policy recommendations to the University regarding student-related activities and services, and is always looking for members and/or student input! You may email any questions/concerns to the Chair of the committee, Lila Campbell.



Additionally, Elections will be held online through the Hofstra Portal:

  • for Undergraduate Students: 9:00 a.m. May 9 to 5:00 p.m. May 10
  • for Graduate Students and Law Students: 9:00 a.m. May 11 to 5:00 p.m. 5:00 p.m. May 12

Please see email below.

Hi Hofstra Students,

I hope you are all well and excited to be experiencing our gorgeous spring weather. As the end of the semester is drawing near, I want to highlight an opportunity to get involved in a shared governance on campus.

I write to you as the current chairperson of the Student Affairs Committee on the University Senate to encourage you to run for a senator position for the 2023-2024 school year. Being on this committee will allow you to participate in initiatives that affect the lives of Hofstra students as a whole. With a smaller time commitment than other organizations on campus, this position allows you to work on projects related to your interests and that will help improve Hofstra. This year, the Student Affairs Committee senators worked on addressing initiatives related to credit limits, Public Safety shuttle services, expanded our outreach to other student organizations on campus, and we worked on several other initiatives throughout the year.

By joining the University Senate, you will have the unique opportunity to work alongside fellow students, faculty, and administrators. It is a truly rewarding and humbling experience. The University Senate and the Student Affairs Committee look forward to welcoming more diverse voices and goals to our group. I hope you will consider running for a position to improve and serve the Hofstra student body. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out.

Respectfully yours, Lila Campbell
Student Affairs Committee Chair She/Her/Hers

There are four spots on the University Senate for Undergraduate Students, and one spot for Graduate and Law School Students.

University Senate meetings are typically held on the second Monday of each month at 1pm. In addition, elected senators will be appointed to one of the following standing committees:

Undergraduate Academic Affairs Committee, Graduate Academic Affairs Committee, Planning and Budget Committee, and Student Affairs Committee. These committees meet once a month, depending on their member's schedules.

You are required to attend Senate meetings and meetings of the standing committee for which you are appointed.

Eligible students must be nominated by petition of at least 10 voters.

Everyone who applies will be asked to submit a photo of themselves as well as a short-focused statement (about 5 -7 sentences) via email with emphasis on those activities and ideas which best reflect their qualifications by the date indicated below. You may request that we use the photo on your Hofstra ID as well.

Applications, statements and photos are due Thursday, May 4, 2023.
(contact Caroline Schreiner if any issues prevent you from making this deadline)

Elections will be held online through the Hofstra Portal:

  • for Undergraduate Students: 9:00 a.m. May 9 to 5:00 p.m. May 10
  • for Graduate Students and Law Students: 9:00 a.m. May 11 to 5:00 p.m. 5:00 p.m. May 12


For more information about the University Senate, and other ways you can get involved, please contact Caroline Schreiner in the University Senate Office.

University Senate Committees & Subcommittees

Faculty Statutes

Rights & Responsibilities

Hofstra University strives to cultivate moral responsibility, aesthetic sensitivity, creativity, emotional maturity, and the physical well-being of every member of our community. We also recognize the important role that our University plays in surrounding Long Island and New York City communities.


Contact Us

Senate Office

Caroline Schreiner
(516) 463-5419

Speaker of the Faculty

William Nirode
(516) 463-6548

Chair of the Senate Executive Committee

Christopher Eliot Philosophy
(516) 463-4516